June’s Top 4

Y’all, summer is here. It’s been hot, muggy, rainy, and hot here in New Orleans. I’ll be honest, I’ve been inside a lot. I haven’t been to the pool too much because they close that thing down quick at the threat of thunder (which is the safest thing to do) and I haven’t had as many snoballs as I had planned because I’m trying to stop spending so much money. It’s not an easy task.

That being said, I’ve had a hard time coming up with 5 things for June. Seriously, I like a lot of things but it’s hard to pick out 5 favorites for the month. So, I picked 4. Sorry, y’all. It difficult thinking of stuff that I really like. I like a lot of things but who knew it would be such a task to pick a few out and write about them.

The more you know.

YouTube Red. 

Guys. Before you say anything about “It’s stupid to pay for YouTube!” or how creators that have shows on the Red platform are sellouts, let me mention a few things about YouTube Red. BACKGROUND PLAY. Yes, friends, if you’re playing music on the YouTube app on your phone or your tablet and you ‘close’ the app, it still plays! Also, you can watch all the videos you desire without commercial interruption. Which is glorious and damning at the same time. Why? Because I can just stay where I am and watch my favorites without for hours on end. Like I said, glorious but damning. I get caught up in the happiness of the videos and get nothing done. Then I get depressed because I got caught up in the videos and got nothing done.

Also, you can watch all the videos you desire without commercial interruption. Which is glorious and damning at the same time. Why? Because I can just stay where I am and watch my favorites without for hours on end. Like I said, glorious but damning. I get caught up in the happiness of the videos and get nothing done. Then I get depressed because I got caught up in the videos and got nothing done.

Also, the content available through Red is pretty great. While I’ve only enjoyed only a few shows that are exclusives, they’ve been great. Also, you get Google music with Red which means commercial-free music. So, you can watch YouTube and listen to Lionel Richie on Google Music until you are completely happy. It’s one of the best choices I”ve ever made, even if it was an impulse decision. (I’ve written about that somewhere, I think. Or maybe I’ve just told a few people about it. I don’t remember.)

Summer Storms

While it keeps from enjoying the pool, I love a good storm. Here in New Orleans, we have storms almost every afternoon. I don’t know why exactly. I suspect it has something to do with all the water around us and the heat and the bowlness of the city. (I could be completely wrong. I’ll have to do some research on the science of why.)  That’s two things you can count on in the summer. A smothering blanket of heat and rain. However, rain happens to be one of my favorite things so I enjoy the storms that roll through. It gives me a good reason to get cozy on the couch and read. It also cools things off, slightly. The other downside it that sometimes it rains hard. Hard rain in NOLA means flooding. (Again,

That’s two things you can count on in the summer. A smothering blanket of heat and rain. However, rain happens to be one of my favorite things so I enjoy the storms that roll through. It gives me a good reason to get cozy on the couch and read. It also cools things off, slightly. The other downside it that sometimes it rains hard. Hard rain in NOLA means flooding. (Again, bowlness, the water pools, and the place fills up!) Despite those things, it is one of my favorite summer things.

Cup O’ Coffee Face Mask

Have I mentioned that I love coffee? I do. It’s my favorite beverage. The smell, the taste, the way it makes me sane. I love it. I also love Lush (I know I’ve talked about that before). The incredible thing about Lush is that they make things that allow me to enjoy my favorite things in a way I didn’t think possible. We’ve all had that experience of smelling freshly ground coffee and have thought “This smells so glorious. I want to immerse my body in it.” I also feel this way about the first cup brewed to start the day. Thanks to Lush, dreams that dream can come true. They have a face mask that has coffee and coffee grounds in it!

We’ve all had that experience of smelling freshly ground coffee and have thought “This smells so glorious. I want to immerse my body in it.” I also feel this way about the first cup brewed to start the day. Thanks to Lush,  that dream can come true. They have a face mask that has coffee and coffee grounds in it!

It’s amazing! You can see how they make this incredible thing here. I use it two to three times a week. It helps wake me up and makes my skin feel super soft and smooth. Also, I think caffeine has external benefits as well as internal so it’s a win-win. I get to enjoy coffee in a way I would have never imagined! Have I mentioned that I love Lush?

Double Walled, Vacuum Insulated Tumblers

This is one of those things that I was slow to get to. First, I didn’t think it was that big of a deal. Sure, the tumblers look great. Sure, they supposedly keep your drink cold (or hot) for a long time. Sure, you can put a cool decal or sticker on them to personalize them. But was it necessary? Well, friends, the answer is yes. I purchased one recently and I don’t regret it at all! It keeps ice for an incredibly long time. This is a feature that is handy during the summer heat I mentioned earlier. They are also easy to clean. Another big plus is that it seems to be the safest drinkware you can use. Now, I know there are conflicting reports about drinking from plastic and the dangers or non-dangers of it but after doing some research I felt like I needed to take the plunge on a fancy tumbler. It wasn’t a huge investment but I drink out of this thing all of the time! It’s a great thing for the summer.

Well, friends, the answer is yes. I purchased one recently and I don’t regret it at all! It keeps ice for an incredibly long time. This is a feature that is handy during the summer heat I mentioned earlier. They are also easy to clean. Another big plus is that it seems to be the safest drinkware you can use. Now, I know there are conflicting reports about drinking from plastic and the dangers or non-dangers of it but after doing some research I felt like I needed to take the plunge on a fancy tumbler. It wasn’t a huge investment but I drink out of this thing all of the time! It’s a great thing for the summer.

So, those are my favorites for the month. I will get more consistent about posting this list at a regular date. I’m figuring this out so bear with me, please. I hope you have a great summer. Eat lots of watermelons and enjoy the sunshine (with sunscreen, of course) and swim. I’ll have 5 next month I promise.

 

 

Leave a Reply

