July

Well, the end of July coming means that sadly the end of Summer is coming. I’m excited to say that I do have 5 things for this month! Yay! Sorry, I got lazy and only had 4 for June. So, here’s my 5 favorite things for July!

The Newsroom

The Newsroom focuses on the anchor and crew of “News Night” and gives a dramatized, behind the scenes look at what it’s like deciding what news should be. It’s interesting to see a scripted show take on history, which this series does. I discovered it on Amazon Prime and have watched all three seasons, wishing it had gotten one more. It’s been a pleasure of a show to watch and it’s one I would gladly watch through again. The acting is great, it’s well written. It has just the right balance of humor. If you haven’t seen it, I suggest checking it out.

Naps

Summer at my place of work means summer hours. This means getting off of work at 4 instead of 5. In the 5 (almost 6) years I’ve worked at this institution, this is the first summer I’ve gotten to enjoy getting off work at 4. First, it’s weird. There’s so much of the day left. Secondly, I’ve developed a nasty habit of wanting to take a nap when I get home at 4. It’s a nasty habit because it messes up my night time sleep, which already has a proclivity to being messed with for reasons like anxiety and stress. Naps, though, y’all. They are wonderful. Absolutely fantastic. The best nap being Sunday afternoon naps. Yes. There’s something about Sunday afternoon naps that makes me incredibly happy. Maybe it’s because it’s the Lord’s day and he commands we find rest. I don’t know. I do know that I enjoy Sunday afternoon naps. I enjoy them immensely. Lately, I’ve gotten to enjoy quite a few rainy Sunday afternoon naps. Those are really my favorite. Yes. Naps.

Pinterest 

Yes, Pinterest. Now, I’ve had a Pinterest account for quite a long time. However, I’ve recently re-discovered the magic of it. You find so much inspiration there. Sure, some of those inspirational ideas our outlandish but they provide inspiration. (I’m not going to use that word anymore in this post.) Also, the number of recipes you can find on Pinterest is insane! It’s helpful for someone like me. I enjoy research. I enjoy learning about stuff, lots of stuff. I often turn to Pinterest to find articles or websites to help me with the things I’m currently into. Lately, it has been a lot of Paleo related stuff.  I’m really going to give that a go. It means no bread and no cheese. That’s a bummer but I’m going to really try to live a Paleo life. Thanks, Pinterest!

She Reads Truth

I’ll admit that since my dad passed away, I’ve had a really difficult time getting into my Bible on a daily, or even regular, basis. It was hard for many reasons. I’m not going to go into that here. However, after almost a year and a half of not being consistently in The Word, I knew I needed to make a change. She Reads Truth has helped before, its helping now, and it’s an excellent resource. They have studies which can be found on their website or on their app. The studies have daily devotionals. The things I like about these devotionals is that is they encourage me to dive deeper into the Word. Also, the focus isn’t just “what does this scripture say to me?”. Often, it’s “what do these passages teach me about God?” That, boys and girls, should be the focus of your Bible study. She Reads Truth has provided me with the ability to do my daily reading at my desk (which is not ideal but lately that’s how it’s been working out) and provides the spur I’ve needed to get into the wonderful Word of God again. It’s great and if you need help with a daily or regular study, I recommend checking out what they have to offer.

Purple Hair

Yes, you read that correctly. I am obsessed with it and have been since about January. I’ve attempted since February of this year to have purple hair. It was an idea encouraged by my best friend when she wanted fun hair for Mardi Gras. What better time to have purple hair then Mardi Gras? How about all of the time! So, since February, I’ve been getting my wonderful hairstylist to make my hair violet. I’ve always wanted pink hair but in order to have pink hair, you have to bleach. I’ve done that. I used Sun-In for an entire summer between 7th and 8th grade and it was a mistake. A big mistake. Also, bleaching your hair is bad. Not that dying your hair every 3 months is great. Anyway, yep, purple hair. I want it. I feel like I need it. Maybe it’s being 29 and suffering from “Peter Pan Syndrome” that makes me want it. Maybe it’s my desire to be a little different. Maybe it’s because I love the idea of it. I’m not sure. However, I am obsessed. (Seriously, check out my Hair and Beauty Pinterest Board. So much purple hair!)

 

So these are my favorite things for July! Please comment with some of your favorite things. I think we could learn from each other. Is there a hair color your obsessed with? A TV show you’ve happened upon that you love? Do you have a Pinterest account? Let me know!

 

Leave a Reply

