Lionel!

So, I recently went to a concert by myself. I enjoyed the mess out of it.

Lionel Richie announced earlier this year that his “All the Hits Tour” would be making a stop in New Orleans. First of all, I lost my ever loving mind. I knew I had to see this show. It was originally scheduled for May but it had to be moved. Lionel was enough of a draw for me but then I found out Mariah Cary was on the tour also and I quickly realized this was an opportunity not to be missed. I’ll admit I wanted to see Mariah live to see if she’s actually lost her touch. Boys and girls, she hasn’t. She didn’t move a lot and I do question her wardrobe choices but she did it. She’s still got it. She hit one signature extraordinarily high note and I heard it and saw her do it with my own eyes. She did the hand up to the ear and everything. It was great.

Lionel, though. Oh, my goodness, Lionel.

I’ve had a lifetime love of Lionel. I distinctly remember “All Night Long” being a song featured on a commercial for “Top Party Hits of the 80s” or something like that as a very young kid. I remember playing a snippet of the video and thinking “Yes, I need this complication CD or tape because this one song is AMAZING.” I remember seeing the video for “All Night Long” as a young child and loving it. I also think my Mama had a Lionel tape, which I’m sure I listened to. He’s an artist among artist. He has such a great catalog of music from the Commodores to his solo career. “All the Hits” indeed. Friends, he put on an amazing set. AMAZING! He sounds great. He moves great. He is funny. He’s engaging on stage. He plays to the people in the audience and has fun. He was there to have a fun and make sure we did, too. I did.

I had an end seat so I had plenty of dancing room. I screamed. I sang along. I shook with excitement.  I don’t think I’ve been that excited to see an artist live since I saw Judah and the Lion a while back. After Mariah’s set, the stage was covered and I debated whether or not that was a good time to take a restroom break because I didn’t want to take a chance on missing any part of Lionel’s show. Thankfully, the line moved quickly and I made it back to my seat with enough time to continue to talk myself down. Seriously, if I had been there with a friend, I would have grabbed them and screamed. I was that excited. I mean, the man is a legend. If you don’t think so, we need to talk. Really. You’re living a lie.

The lights went down, the curtain went away, lights flashed, and that iconic “Hello” echoed and there he was in a silver jacket walking onto the stage as a piano appeared from the center of the stage. It was magical. Absolutely magical. I had great seats, I had room, I bought a t-shirt (because, duh, I did), that area sang “Say You, Say Me”, “Sail On” “Brick House”, “Hello”, “Stuck on You”, “Truly”, and “All Night Long”. I would have stayed in that area forever begging him to keep coming back on stage. Thankfully, he and Mariah did not sing “Endless Love,” I’ll be honest and admit that was a thing I didn’t want to happen. It would have ruined the song. (No, it wouldn’t have. That’s not possible. I would have been disappointed though.) It was a great night.

So, friends, if you ever get the opportunity to see Lionel Richie in concert… DO IT!! Sing, dance, even if you’re by yourself!

Leave a Reply

